Michele C. Russo Library Services Student Worker Scholarship

IU South Bend Library Services recognize that our student workers are essential to maintaining our services, collections and operations. To reward those who are students as well as employees of the Franklin D. Schurz Library and Dorothy J. Wiekamp Educational Resource Commons, the Michele C. Russo Library Services Student Worker Scholarship Endowment has established a scholarship for undergraduate and graduate student employees at the IU South Bend Libraries. Awards are based upon scholarship and outstanding work in the Schurz Library or Wiekamp Educational Resource Commons (WERC) without regard to race, gender, religion, age, physical disability or sexual orientation. Winners are announced in the spring and awarded in the following academic year.

Congratulations to the 2018 award recipients: Carissa White, Madeline Allin and Oyata Bulaya.

Award Requirements

  • Currently employed by the Schurz Library or WERC.
  • Worked 3 completed semesters in the library, not necessarily consecutive.* (Summer session I & summer session II will be considered as one semester worked.)
  • Enrolled in a degree seeking program.
  • Taking at least 6 credits during the semester of application
  • Maintains an overall GPA of 2.7 or higher.

Previous winners are eligible in subsequent years.

Application Process

  • The scholarship is publicized at meetings and via email to student workers and student supervisors. Supervisors should encourage qualified students to apply.
  • To apply, log in to One.iu.edu and enter the “Scholarships” task (available October 1 each year).
  • The online scholarship application must be completed by March 1.

Consideration Process

  • The Dean of Library Services appoints a Selection Committee of faculty, staff and librarians. After reviewing the applications, the Committee forwards the recommended name(s) and proposed award amounts to the Dean.
  • The Dean of Library Services makes the final decision by April 1.

If the Selection Committee and the Dean of Library Services agree that there are no qualified applicants, no award need be given in a particular year.